The Dead Shall Not Rest (Dr. Thomas Silkstone Mystery)

The Dead Shall Not Rest (Dr. Thomas Silkstone Mystery)

Tessa Harris


the bright anatomist Dr. Thomas Silkstone returns in Tessa Harris's brilliant and compelling secret sequence set in 1780s London. . .

It is not only the residing who're prey to London's criminals and cutpurses. Corpses, too, are reasonable game--dug up from clean graves and offered to unscrupulous males of technological know-how. Dr. Thomas Silkstone abhors such equipment, yet his major rival, Dr. John Hunter, has realized of the approaching dying of eight-foot-tall Charles Byrne, referred to as the "Irish Giant," and should visit any lengths to acquire the physique for his learn.

Thomas intends to work out that Byrne is permitted to relaxation in peace. but his efforts are complex through problem for his betrothed, woman Lydia Farrell, who breaks off their engagement with no rationalization. while Dr. Hunter is implicated within the bad homicide of a tender castrato, Thomas needs to confirm how a long way the more and more erratic health care professional will cross within the identify of data. For as Thomas is aware too good, the blackest hearts occasionally move undetected--and even an unblemished façade can disguise terrifying secrets and techniques. . .

Praise for The Anatomist's Apprentice

"Densely plotted. . . We await--indeed, demand--the sequel." --The manhattan instances booklet Review

"An soaking up debut. . . Harris has various tips up her sleeve or even veteran armchair puzzle solvers usually are surprised." --Publishers Weekly

"Smart misdirection and time-period acceptable clinical information make for a promising begin to a brand new sequence. a robust selection for readers of Ariana Franklin and Caleb Carr." --Library Journal

"CSI meets the Age of Reason with a well-drawn, interesting solid of characters, headed through the intense Dr. Thomas Silkstone. choked with twists and turns, Tessa Harris's debut secret can confound the main adept reader. vibrant info pulled me correct into the area of early forensic sleuthing. A web page turner!" --Karen Harper

"Intricate forensic info and a number of fascinating characters force the tale. the writer can have you flipping the pages at each one unforeseen flip within the plot. . .an soaking up learn with a stunning twist on the end." --Historical Novel Reviews

"Tessa Harris has brought a deftly plotted debut. simply for those who imagine the puzzle is solved, she unearths yet one more incredible twist which leaves you marveling at her ingenuity." --Carol Carr, writer of India Black and The Widow of Windsor

A studying workforce GUIDE

Discussion Questions

1. What are the parallels among the strong physicians within the novel and the multinational drug businesses of today?

2. How does Thomas improve as a personality during this, the second one ebook within the sequence?

3. Does the process the battle of Independence impact any attitudes towards Thomas during this book?

4. Anatomists within the eighteenth century discovered corpses so difficult to return by way of that they have been pressured to show to grave robbers for a standard provide. these days, extra humans donate their our bodies to technology. might you?

5. may still organ donation be made compulsory?

6. Freak indicates have lengthy been thought of an affront to human dignity, yet in an age with little social welfare, what was once the choice for the significantly disabled?

7. Charles Byrne and count number Boruwlaski either have significant disabilities yet are handled in very alternative ways. Why is that this so, and the way may they be taken care of today?

8. How some distance do revelations approximately Lydia's previous visit clarify her submissive character?

9. used to be John Hunter a clinical visionary or an evil obsessive?

10. Charles Byrne's skeleton continues to be on demonstrate within the Hunterian Museum in London to this present day. should still he receive a formal burial?

Show sample text content

Download sample