The Chessmen: The Lewis Trilogy

The Chessmen: The Lewis Trilogy

Peter May

Marilyn Stasio in The ny Times raved: "Peter may possibly is a author i might stick with to the ends of the earth." among the honors received, The Blackhouse, the 1st novel in May's acclaimed Lewis trilogy, received the Barry and Crime mystery Hound awards.

Now, with The Chessmen, Peter could provides us a dramatic end to his award-winning Lewis trilogy. residing back of the Isle of Lewis, the ex-Detective Inspector Fin McLeod is operating as a safety officer for a neighborhood landowner. whereas investigating criminal activity at the property Fin encounters the elusive poacher and previous formative years good friend Whistler Macaskill.
But whereas Fin catches up with Whistler, the 2 witness a freak average phenomenon--a 'Bog Burst'--which spontaneously drains a loch of its water, revealing a mud-encased mild plane with a sickeningly frequent moniker on its side.
Both males instantly be aware of that they are going to locate inside of: the physique of Roddy Mackenzie, a chum whose flight disappeared greater than seventeen years prior to. but if Whistler's face seems to be to sign in whatever except surprise, an icy kick back of apprehension overtakes Fin. What mystery has Whistler been hiding from him, and everybody else at the island? Fin is unprepared for the way the reality in regards to the previous will adjust the process the future.

Show sample text content

Download sample