Public Architecture Now!

Public Architecture Now!

Philip Jodidio

We are likely to divide constructions into uncomplicated categories—private constructions resembling homes, and public structures like railway stations, live performance halls or museums. Public structures have limits in their personal: even if a courthouse or an airport, a stadium or collage campus, questions of favor, functionality or price are basically posed. Resolving such tensions is only one of many severe questions that come up whilst the definition of public structure is at stake. This ebook explores the main inventive responses to those and comparable concerns, and exhibits how in recent times, public structure has passed through an important upheaval, a cultured awakening of types.

the place solidly classical and staid designs have been the norm, aesthetic bold and innovation at the moment are more and more rewarded, as celebrated architects from Herzog & de Meuron to Jean Nouvel have blazed a path for a brand new iteration of actually public buildings—structures that mix entry for the numerous, with caliber as soon as reserved for the few. Public structure Now! highlights the groundbreaking and breathtaking new public structure now showing world wide, from Spain to Norway, through Chile, China and the USA.

Featured architects and practices include:
3XN, Adjaye affiliates, Aires Mateus, Stan Allen, AllesWirdGut, Tadao Ando, Paul Andreu, ARM, Arup affiliates, Assadi + Pulido, Atelier Oslo / AWP, Auer+Weber+Assoziierte, b720 Arquitectos, Behnisch Architekten, Bruno Fioretti Marquez, Santiago Calatrava, Cannon layout, CEBRA, David Chipperfield, Coop Himmelb(l)au, Diller Scofidio + Renfro, EMBT – Miralles / Tagliabue, Doriana and Massimiliano Fuksas, Frank O. Gehry, Nicholas Grimshaw, Herzog & de Meuron, Hotson Bakker Boniface Haden, Toyo Ito, Taiji Kawano, Marcio Kogan, Kuehn Malvezzi, Line and area, Localarchitecture, Lundgaard & Tranberg, Fumihiko Maki, Michael Maltzan, Francisco Mangado, Giancarlo Mazzanti, MGM Arquitectos, Rafael Moneo, Moneo Brock Studio, Alberto Nicolau, Jean Nouvel, ONL, Perkins Eastman, Dominique Perrault, Plan B Arquitectos + JPRCR Architects, Rojkind Arquitectos, Álvaro Siza Vieira, Substance, Tidy Architects, UNStudio / Van Berkel & Bos, Vicens + Ramos, Makoto Sei Watanabe, René van Zuuk

Show sample text content

Download sample